skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Murray   30 August [1872]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

Aug. 30th

My dear Sir

Please to send to Mess. Williams & Norgate, Henrietta St, a parcel marked outside for “Dr. Anton Dohrn, Naples” of all my books, viz, Journal of Researches The Origin, Descent of Man, Variation of Animals under domestication, Fertilisation of Orchids, & Facts for Darwin by Fritz Müller,—2

You will have heard from Koch3 that he requires 3000 copies of the Heliotype Plate; as there probably will be more wanted, I shd. think you had better give order soon for an increased number beyond the 5000 ordered by Mr Cooke.—4

My dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Anton Dohrn, 28 August 1872.
CD had agreed to send copies of his publications to the library of the new zoological station at Naples, care of the London publisher Williams & Norgate (see letter to Anton Dohrn, 24 August [1872]). CD refers to Journal of researches 2d ed., Origin 6th ed., Descent, Variation, Orchids, and Facts and arguments for Darwin (Dallas trans. 1869).
Eduard Friedrich Koch of E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung was arranging for the German translation of Expression.
The photographic illustrations were being printed by the Heliotype Company; Robert Francis Cooke had been handling matters relating to the publication of Expression during Murray’s absence in August (see letter from R. F. Cooke, 23 August 1872).


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.

Journal of researches 2d ed.: Journal of researches into the natural history and geology of the countries visited during the voyage of HMS Beagle round the world, under the command of Capt. FitzRoy RN. 2d edition, corrected, with additions. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1845.

Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.

Origin 6th ed.: The origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. 6th edition, with additions and corrections. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Asks JM to send copies of all his books to Anton Dohrn.

Koch [of Schweizerbart] requires 3000 sets of copies of the heliotype plates [for German edition of Expression].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Murray
Sent from
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 ff. 267–8)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8495,” accessed on 23 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20