skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To R. F. Cooke   [14 August 1872]1

Leith Hill Place | Wotton | Dorking


My dear Sir

I have heard from my son & it has been the greatest relief to me that the estimate was a mistake.2

I enclose lettered copies of the 7 plates, to you instead of direct to the company, as I do not quite understand what you have determined about the manner of lettering. I hope I shall now cause no more trouble, & I have only further to request you to let me hear, so that I may write at once to foreign editors & inform them of the cost per 1000 copies of the 7 plates paper included.3 I think it wd be quite fair to distribute the cost of the negatives & of the 7 guineas which I have paid to Mr Rejlander4 over all the copies, as well as some slight commission to yourselves for the trouble.

You cannot imagine what a relief it has been to me to find that the H. company has wished to impose upon me.

My dear Sir | yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from G. H. Darwin, [13 August 1872]. In 1872, the first Wednesday following 13 August was 14 August.
See letter from G. H. Darwin, [13 August 1872]. George Howard Darwin had received from Cooke a revised estimate for printing the plates for Expression from the Heliotype Company (letter from R. F. Cooke to G. H. Darwin, 13 August 1872).
On the translations of Expression, see the letter from R. F. Cooke, 1 August 1872, nn. 5 and 8.
Oscar Gustaf Rejlander had supplied CD with a number of photographs for Expresssion (see Correspondence vol. 19, letter from John Murray, 31 May [1871]).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.


Is greatly relieved to hear that the estimate [of the Heliotype Company] was a mistake. Sends lettered copies of seven plates for Expression, and discusses payment to be made by foreign editors for copies of the plates.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Sent from
Leith Hill Place
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 ff. 253–4)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8468,” accessed on 3 August 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20