skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Francis Galton   9 August [1872]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

Aug. 9th | Friday.

My dear Galton

I telegraphed to you this morning about the Rabbit. Our confounded carrier suddenly changed his day & goes up to night, perhaps he will bring the rabbit tomorrow evening2 If it does not then come I do not know how it had better be sent; if by Railway, I may not perhaps hear when it arrives at Orpington. Next week Snow will go up to the Nags Head on Wednesday night.—3

Ever yours | C. Darwin

Footnotes

This letter was previously published from a dealer’s catalogue in Correspondence vol. 20; the transcription here is from the original. The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to Francis Galton, 1 August [1872] (Correspondence vol. 20).
CD was taking care of rabbits that Galton was using in transfusion experiments (see Correspondence vol. 20, letter to Francis Galton, 1 August [1872] and n. 1). In 1872, 9 August was a Friday; CD had told Galton that the carrier (George Snow) left London on Thursday morning.
The Nag’s Head, an inn in Borough, south-east London, was Snow’s London terminus.

Summary

Alteration in the arrangements for the carrier to collect the rabbit from FG and bring it to Down.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-8461
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Francis Galton
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Union College, Schaffer Library, Special Collections and Archives (Mullen Collection, SCA-1181)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8461,” accessed on 28 February 2024, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-8461.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20

letter