skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To JDHooker   2 January 1872

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

Jan 2. 1872

My dear Hooker

I am heartily glad of yr news, & now I hope that you will be able to work with an undisturbed mind.1 I feel yr news quite as a relief, & you must do so in a much greater degree.

There are a good many hazels in the sand walk & you are perfectly welcome to have them all; but what appear like suckers seem to me more like branches from old underground cut down stems, & I do not think they wd be easily removed.2 I fully believe you cd buy 100s at a less cost than the journey of yr messenger to & fro; but as I said you are perfectly welcome to send if you think fit.

I saw Huxley when I was in town & thought he looked very unwell. I quite agree with what you say about his doing too much miscellaneous work.3 I have often preached to him & will do so again; but I believe he partly does this work for money for his family & then what can one say.

If your scheme could be organized of making him a sort of Director General for the transference of the British Museum & for other Scientific work, this wd be splendid; but how can it possibly be effected?4

Yours affectionately | Ch. Darwin


CD refers to Thomas Henry Huxley. See letter from JD. Hooker, 1 January 1872 and n. 2. CD was in London from 14 to 22 December 1871 (see Correspondence vol. 19, Appendix II).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Heartily glad about the news of the Ayrton affair development.

Huxley looks very unwell from too much miscellaneous work; CD wishes he could be made a Director General for transference of British Museum and for other scientific work, as JDH suggests.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 94: 216–17
Physical description
LS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8139,” accessed on 22 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20