skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From R. F. Cooke   9 October 1871

50A, Albemarle Street, London, W.

Octr. 9 1871

My dear Sir

If you will send up the first 6 Chapters of “Origin” I will give Messrs. Clowes’ orders to commence setting them up at once.1

Mr Murray thinks a Glossary might be advisable, but that it shd. not exceed from 6 to 10 pages & that if Mr Dallas was to be offered £10– for it, it wd. be a liberal sum, & that he shd. agree to finish it out of hand by a certain day?2

I am sorry to hear you have been so poorly as I hoped your Guildford visit wd. set you up.3

Yours faithfully | Robt. Cooke

C. Darwin Esq


See letter to John Murray, 6 October [1871]. Cooke refers to the sixth edition of Origin; William Clowes & Sons were Murray’s printers.
See letter to John Murray, 6 October [1871]. Cooke refers to William Sweetland Dallas. The glossary was twelve pages long.
From 28 July to 25 August 1871, CD and his family stayed at Albury, Surrey, about four miles from Guildford (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II).


Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.


Will give printer orders to set up first six chapters of Origin [6th ed.]. Murray thinks a glossary [of scientific terms] might be advisable, if not longer than ten pages. Will offer W. S. Dallas £10 for it.

Letter details

Letter no.
Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50a
Source of text
DAR 171: 403
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7996,” accessed on 25 September 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19