skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Francis Darwin   [after 22 May 1871]1

University “Pitt” Club

My dear Father

I am very much obliged for the cheque2   thank you very much for your offer about America, and for your letter which is awfully good—3 I went up to town on Monday and spoke to Stirling about the Hosp   as far as I can make out it is all right & I can get away by the 20th.4 I will write very soon & explain— I will see about the cuttle fish as well as I can—5 My Tatler is a great success6   Jackson7 is very much pleased with it & so are most people

Good bye dear Father | Yrs affec | FD

I will send a Tatler


The date is established by the reference to [Darwin] 1871 (see n. 6, below).
CD had offered to pay the expenses of Francis’s trip to the United States (see letter to Francis Darwin, 21 May [1871]).
Edward Charles Stirling was studying medicine at St George’s Hospital, London, where Francis was also a student (Alum. Cantab.).
CD had inquired about the eyes of cephalopods, a class of molluscs that includes cuttlefish (see letter to Francis Darwin, 21 May [1871] and nn. 4 and 10).
Francis published a short article in the form of a letter on the melancholy of bachelors of arts in the Cambridge Tatler, 22 May 1871 ([F. Darwin] 1871).


Alum. Cantab.: Alumni Cantabrigienses. A biographical list of all known students, graduates and holders of office at the University of Cambridge, from the earliest times to 1900. Compiled by John Venn and J. A. Venn. 10 vols. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1922–54.

[Darwin, Francis]. 1871. Letter on the melancholy of Bachelors. Cambridge Tatler 22 May 1871, pp. 45–7.


Thanks for the cheque, and also for the offer to pay for him to go on a trip to north America with G. H. Darwin.

Letter details

Letter no.
Francis Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
University “Pitt” Club, Cambridge
Source of text
DAR 274.1: 21
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7761G,” accessed on 4 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19