skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Francis Darwin   [after 16 May 1871]1

University “Pitt” Club

My dear Father

I would have written to you before but I have been writing to St Georges (to my friend there) to find out whether I could get away from London before the end of July & whether I need come back at the beginning of October—2 I am afraid I couldn’t get away till end of July— but I am almost sure that I might come back about the middle of Oct   I will tell you when I hear— It is most awfully kind of you to offer to pay for me—3 I dont know what the exped wd cost but I should certainly have a great deal of my July to Oct allowance to spend on it—so I hope you wdnt have to help me much   Will you please let me have the remainder of my £100; because you have given me such an awful lot of extra money, that I very much want to do with as little as possible—4 If I find I cant manage to go to America & keep my London Hosp term of course I must give it up— I had quite made up my mind that I wasnt going so it wouldn’t be much disappointment—

Your affectionate son | F. Darwin

I have 5 guineas fees to pay, so will you please pay that with the remainder of the £100 sometime before the end of the term

CD annotations

Top of letter: ‘(Eye of Cuttlefish) | Pryor Artic | Review | Balfour’ pencil5


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to Francis Darwin, 16 May [1871].
Francis’s friend was probably Edward Charles Stirling, a fellow student at St George’s Hospital, London (see first letter from Francis Darwin, [after 22 May 1871]). Francis was hoping to travel to the United States in the summer with his brother George Howard Darwin and two friends (see letter from G. H. Darwin, [14 May 1871]).
The annotations are for CD’s letter to Francis Darwin, 21 May [1871].


He is waiting to hear about the requirements for the MB examination before considering the possible trip to north America.

Letter details

Letter no.
Francis Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 274.1: 17
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7761F,” accessed on 1 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19