skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Luigi Pomba   10 May 1871

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

May 10. 1871

Dear Sir

I am much obliged for your letter, & I can have no objection to your publishing a translation in Italian of my Descent of Man instead of M. Loescher, as he gives his consent.1 If you will forward this note to Mr Murray, he will give you the proper authoriz〈ation &〉 will supply you with the Cliches. If you want the latter quickly, I wd suggest that you send a cheque for £14 to Mr Murray—2

I hope your translation may be successful & I remain | Dear Sir | yours faithfully | Ch. Darwin

P.S. I cannot remember whether I have sent to M. Loescher sheets of the last & corrected reprint for translation.3 If not, this note will serve to request Mr Murray to send them to you immediately, as I particularly desire that these should be translated.


To Signor Pomba | Via Carlo Alberto in 33 | Turin.


See letter from Luigi Pomba, 6 May 1871. The reference is to Ermanno Loescher.
Pomba’s letter to John Murray discussing the terms of the Italian translation of Descent, and enclosing payment for the plates, is in the John Murray archive, National Library of Scotland, MS 40966.
Descent was published on 24 February 1871. It was reprinted in March and April, and in each case small alterations were made to the text (Freeman 1977).


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Freeman, Richard Broke. 1977. The works of Charles Darwin: an annotated bibliographical handlist. 2d edition. Folkestone, Kent: William Dawson & Sons. Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, Shoe String Press.


Has no objection to LP’s replacing Loescher in publishing an Italian translation of Descent. Murray will give proper authorisation.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Luigi Pomba
Sent from
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42153 ff. 46–7)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7748,” accessed on 19 October 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19