skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. D. Hooker   30 April [1872]1

April 30th/71

Dear Darwin

I owe you for two letters, & wish I could cancel my debt by giving you a letter to Dr. O. Mahoney, but I confess myself unknown from not knowing even who he is.2

Thanks for your offer of the photographs— pray send them if they are quite to spare— I have some [monster] photos: of California [Scenery] that I have had framed for the Museum3

My Mother4 is certainly no worse, but does not seem to rally materially. I wish that I could see more of her— I fear that Aunt Hannahs5 leaving will be a sad blow to her

Kind love to you all—I am distracted with work. | Ever yr affec | J D Hooker


Hooker evidently erred in writing the year. In April 1871 he was travelling in Morocco. The year is established by the reference to Hooker’s mother, who died in October 1872 (Allan 1967, p. 224).
No letters from CD to Hooker have been found since Hooker’s last known letter to CD of [5 February 1872?]. Dr Mahoney has not been identified.
Hooker presented ten large photographs of California forest scenery to the Kew Museum of Economic Botany in July 1871 (Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, Museum entry book, p. 284). The entry notes that the photographs were given to Hooker by Mrs Gray (Jane Loring Gray) in 1870. See also plate on p. 175.


Allan, Mea. 1967. The Hookers of Kew, 1785–1911. London: Michael Joseph.


Does not know Dr Mahoney.

Thanks CD for offer of photographs.

His mother’s health is no worse.

Letter details

Letter no.
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Charles Robert Darwin
Source of text
Barton L. Smith MD (private collection)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7729A,” accessed on 31 March 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20