skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Elliott & Fry   23 April [1871]1

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

Ap 23

Dear Sir

If you really think it worth while to come down, I shall be happy to give you a sitting & aid in any way.—2

Orpington Station is nearest.

But I am bound to tell you that I lately was several times with Mr Rejlander, who was assisting me on a scientific subject, &, who took so much trouble for my sake that I gladly complied with his request to take several photos: of me, and these I imagine he intends to sell to any purchasers; & this fact may make it not worth your while to come down here.—3

If you do come, be so kind as to let me know a day or two before.—

Dear Sir | yours faithfully | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to H. E. Darwin, 20 March 1871, and the form of the address, with ‘Bromley’ deleted and ‘Beckenham’ added by hand, which was used by CD between April 1869 and May 1871.
There is no further mention of any visit by a representative of Elliott & Fry in 1871.
CD had met Oscar Gustaf Rejlander when he was in London from 1 to 5 April 1871; see letter to H. E. Darwin, 20 March 1871 and n. 4. He supplied CD with several photographs for Expression (see letter to James Crichton-Browne, 7 April [1871]). Rejlander’s photographs of CD are in DAR 225: 114–15 and DAR 257: 14 (see frontispiece). No Elliott & Fry photographs of CD taken in 1871 have been found.


Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.


Gives permission for the photographer to come to Down, but states that O. J. Rejlander has recently taken several photographs of him which would be available to purchasers.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Elliott & Fry
Sent from
Source of text
Gerald M. Friedman (private collection)
Physical description
3 pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7710A,” accessed on 29 November 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19