skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From John Murray   12 April [1871]1

50, Albemarle St. | W.

Ap. 12

My Dear Sir

Will you perpend & pronounce upon Mr Loeschers request?2 I believe he is a pushing German established lately at Turin   I think he ought to have named his Translator—3

Very faithfully yours | John Murray

Have you heard the name of your reviewer in the Times?4 I have not

Ch. Darwin Esqr


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from R. F. Cooke, 26 April 1871 (see n. 2, below).
Ermanno Loescher had evidently requested the rights for the Italian translation of Descent (Lessona trans. 1871). No letter from Loescher has been found, but see the letter from R. F. Cooke, 26 April 1871, and the letter from Luigi Pomba, 6 May 1871.
Loescher’s translator was Michele Lessona (see letter from Luigi Pomba, 6 May 1871).
Murray refers to the anonymous review of Descent in The Times (7 April 1871, p. 3, and 8 April 1871, p. 5).


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


Asks CD’s opinion of a request from Loescher of Turin. Thinks Loescher should have named his translator.

Does CD know the name of the Times reviewer?

Letter details

Letter no.
John Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50
Source of text
DAR 171: 395
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7676,” accessed on 9 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19