skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [14 July 1844]

Down near Bromley | Kent


My dear Hooker

I propose to give myself the pleasure of paying you a morning visit on Thursday. I have to be in town on Wednesday & will come in my light tax cart,1 about ten oclock in the morning & at midday return across country home. As I shall be in town, I will certainly come without the weather be atrociously bad.— Wd you send me one single line to say whether Thursday would suit you, if not I wd come on Friday, but Thursday wd suit me best.—

Wd you send your answer as soon as you receive this—then perhaps I shall receive it on Tuesday morning.

Mrs. Darwin is very much obliged for your kind invitation, but is afraid of the length of the drive.—2

Believe me Ever yours | C. Darwin

P.S. | I ought to apologise for coming in the morning & thus causing you to lose your best hours, but my visit will not be very long.—

N.B. As my health is always extremely uncertain, you must not be surprised if I fail: if I am not with you before eleven, you will understand that my health is to blame.—


A light, two-wheeled farmer’s cart on which a reduced tax had formerly been levied.
Although CD declines the invitation on behalf of Emma, she did, according to her diary, accompany her husband on his trip to Kew. The diary records that they visited Hooker on Thursday, 18 July.


Health and weather permitting, CD proposes to visit Kew.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 114: 13
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 763,” accessed on 28 September 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 3