skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. J. Moulinié   3 March 1871


3 March 1871

Dear Sir,

On receipt of your kind letter of 20th February last, the last sheets (chapter XXI & Index) had not reached me, and thinking that some delay of the post might have been the cause, I delayed a few days to answer to your letter; till all hopes of receiving the parcel might have been given up.1 I did well after all, for it came to its destination, at last. A mistake of the person to whom the postman gave it, thinking it was for my mother who is now at Chambery,2 posted it to her while I was absent; now it is come back and all is right and complete, except what comes after page 472 of the Index, and what I see on the volume, is but a quarter of a sheet.

I am happy to inform you that I have finished the translation, and began the Index; and am ready to send it to Paris as soon as Mr. Reinwald, who intends to publish it as quick as possible, will be reestablished in his house.3 I hope also that the Origin may be soon finished.4

All the corrections you have sent to me have been carefully inserted in their respective places, and consequently the Postscript will be useless. If you have further corrections to make, I shall be happy to receive them.

Hoping that this will find you in good health, remember me kindly to Mrs. Darwin and your amiable family and believe me | Dear Sir your’s most respectfully | J. J. Moulinié


See letter to J. J. Moulinié, 20 February [1871]. The reference is to proof-sheets of Descent, which Moulinié translated into French (Moulinié trans. 1872).
Moulinié’s mother was English, but has not been further identified (Correspondence vol. 15, letter from Carl Vogt, 23 April 1867). Chambéry is a city in the Savoie department, Rhône-Alpes region of France.
Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald was absent from Paris during the siege of the city by Prussian forces during the Franco-Prussian war (letter from C.-F. Reinwald, 1 February 1871).
Moulinié was translating the fifth edition of Origin into French (Moulinié trans. 1873).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.


French translation of Descent all but complete.

Hopes translation of Origin will soon be finished.

Letter details

Letter no.
Jean Jacques Moulinié
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 171: 275
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7538,” accessed on 8 December 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19