skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To William Benjamin Carpenter   [11 or 18 December 1844]1

Down. Bromley Kent


Dear Sir

I am exceedingly obliged to you for your kind note & very obliging offer of examining my specimens2 I will send them tomorrow morning by our carrier to London & thence per coach to Ripley. The one without any apparent shells, is that which I want examining.— On looking round it, you will see the little, indistinct, embedded fragments. The specimens can be returned any time per coach, directed to me at “7 Park St. Grosvenor Sqre3

I am very much obliged by your kind offer of sending me some slices of shells, but I have not an achromatic microscope.

With very many thanks, believe me | dear Sir | Yours sincerely | C. Darwin To | Dr. W. Carpenter


Dated from Carpenter’s reply, see letter from W. B. Carpenter, 21 December 1844.
CD sent Carpenter concretions of marl from the Pampas and similar rocks from Chile for microscopic comparison (see South America, pp. 76–7).
The address of Erasmus Alvey Darwin.


South America: Geological observations on South America. Being the third part of the geology of the voyage of the Beagle, under the command of Capt. FitzRoy RN, during the years 1832 to 1836. By Charles Darwin. London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1846.


Thanks WBC for offer to examine specimen and for offer of slices of shells, but has no achromatic microscope.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Benjamin Carpenter
Sent from
Source of text
University of Rochester Libraries, Department of Rare Books, Special Collections and Preservation
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 753,” accessed on 2 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 3