skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To P. L. Sclater   [24 February 1871]1

6. Queen Anne St


My dear Mr Sclater

Immediately on my return home, (ie 5–6 days) I will send to you Godman’s book, unless indeed I shd previously (which is not likely) receive orders from Mr Godman.—2

Yours very truly | Ch. Darwin


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to F. Du C. Godman, 4 March [1871], and by the dates of CD’s visit to London. CD was in London from 23 February to 2 March 1871 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)); the only Friday in this period was 24 February.
CD evidently had a spare copy of Frederick Du Cane Godman’s Natural history of the Azores or Western Islands (Godman 1870; see letter to F. Du C. Godman, 4 March [1871]). There is an annotated copy of Godman 1870 in the Darwin Library–CUL (see Marginalia 1: 330).


Godman, Frederick Du Cane. 1870. Natural history of the Azores or Western Islands. London: Van Voorst.

Marginalia: Charles Darwin’s marginalia. Edited by Mario A. Di Gregorio with the assistance of Nicholas W. Gill. Vol. 1. New York and London: Garland Publishing. 1990.


Will send F. Du Cane Godman’s book [Natural history of the Azores (1870)] as soon as he returns home.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Philip Lutley Sclater
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
Zoological Society of London (GB 0814 BADD (Darwin))
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7511,” accessed on 13 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19