skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From David Forbes   18 February 1871

11, York Place, | Portman Square, | London. W

18 Feby. 1871

My dear Mr Darwin

I have this moment received your two new volumes which you have so kindly sent me and which I shall appreciate the more as coming from yourself—1 I have been eagerly looking out for their appearance and now hail their publication with much pleasure; having already commenced their perusal I found the commencement so interesting that I feel sure they will be equally so to the end— yet I can plainly see that you have had great difficulty in condensing the wonderful amount of matter which you have collected into so comparatively small a space as that at your command in these two volumes— I trust however that your health will continue to improve and that you may be long spared to us, to continue your researches for the benefit of Science—and

Again thanking you for your kindness I remain | Yours very sincerely | David Forbes


Forbes’s name appears on CD’s presentation list for Descent (Appendix IV).


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


Thanks for copy of Descent.

Letter details

Letter no.
David Forbes
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, York Place, 11
Source of text
DAR 164: 146
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7487,” accessed on 4 December 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19