skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. V. Carus   17 February 1871

33, Windmühlenstrasse | Leipzig,

Febr. 17 | 1871.

My dear Sir,

The pages in question are not yet printed nor will they be so before three or four weeks. However you would oblige me by sending me your corrections soon, that I may correct the manuscript.1

I am sorry to say that I am writing these lines from my bed which I am obliged to keep almost for a fortnight in order to get over an attack of Bronchitis and pleuritic exsudation.2 Of course I was at the same time obliged to stop my work for now ten days, but I hope to be able to get at it again next week   I had proof-sheets of about the seven first sheets of the Original and every week I get two or three.

Eighteen months ago I moved to the place which I wrote on the other side3   I got your letters quite regularly. But you will kindly take notice of the alteration.

Believe me | Yours ever sincerely. | Prof J. Victor Carus

Footnotes

See letter to J. V. Carus, 15 February [1871]. Carus was translating Descent into German (Carus trans. 1871).
Pleuritic exudation: i.e. pleurisy.
Carus refers to the address at the head of the letter; previously he had written from 39 Elsterstrasse, Leipzig (see, for example, Correspondence vol. 15, letter from J. V. Carus, 11 September 1867).

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Summary

The pages [of Descent] CD wishes to correct are not yet printed.

JVC’s work on the translation has been interrupted by illness.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-7485
From
Julius Victor Carus
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Leipzig
Source of text
DAR 161: 78
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7485,” accessed on 25 September 2020, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-7485.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19

letter