skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From R. F. Cooke   3 February 1871

50A, Albemarle Street, London, W.

Feby. 3 1871

My dear Sir

Will you read the enclosed from M. Reinwald & return it with yr wishes.1

We have failed to get any rise out of M. Vincenzi as yet. Do you think it worth while to forward the a/c again?2

Yours faithfully | Robt. Cooke

C. Darwin Esq


Cooke probably refers to the letter from Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald to John Murray concerning woodcuts for the French translation of Descent that accompanied his letter to CD of 1 February 1871.
Giovanni Canestrini, who published an Italian translation of Variation (Canestrini trans. 1876), hoped that it would be published by a Mr Vincenzi of Modena (see Correspondence vol. 18, letter from Giovanni Canestrini, 21 April 1870). Mr Vincenzi has not been identified. In the event, it was published by Unione Typografico-Editrice in Turin.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Encloses a letter [missing] from C. Reinwald, publisher of the French edition of Descent [1872].

Vincenzi [of Unione, Turin – publisher of Italian translation] has not yet paid the account.

Letter details

Letter no.
Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50a
Source of text
DAR 171: 385
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7474,” accessed on 17 April 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19