skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From St G. J. Mivart   31 January 1871

Thatched House Club, | St. James’s.

Janry. 31st 1871

My dear Sir

Absence from town has prevented my replying more immediately to your last very kind letter.1

On my return from Sussex last night (where I have been superintending the construction of my wigwam) I found your valued present awaiting me—2 Accept my best thanks for it but there is one thing more I want— it is that when you come to North Bank you will be kind enough to write my name in it.

I am much obliged to your son for his M.S.   as I said before, the word “dogmatic” shall not appear again.3

Once more begging you to accept my best thanks and my very kind regards I remain | My dear Sir | Your’s most truly | St Geo Mivart.


CD had asked John Murray to send Mivart a copy of Variation (see letter to St G. J. Mivart, 28 January [1871]). Mivart’s London address was 7 North Bank. Mivart was having a house built at Wilmshurst, Fletching, near Uckfield, in Sussex (Post Office directory of the six home counties 1874).


Post Office directory of the six home counties: Post Office directory of the six home counties, viz., Essex, Herts, Kent, Middlesex, Surrey and Sussex. London: W. Kelly & Co. 1845–78.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Thanks CD for the second volume of Descent.

Letter details

Letter no.
St George Jackson Mivart
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Thatched House Club
Source of text
DAR 171: 193
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7467,” accessed on 18 February 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19