skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To R. F. Cooke   14 January [1871]1

Down, Beckenham, Kent. S.E.

Jan. 14th.

My dear Sir

I am much obliged for your clear answers to all my queries.2 I return your list of Periodicals; two are extinct: I have marked in pencil the Echo, as I know Miss Cobbe, who writes largely and well in it, is much interested on several of my points.3 I should think Macmillan’s Magazine was worth sending to.4 I feel sure the Journal of Anthropology would be and would give good Review.5 Please attend to Memorandum of address of Dr. C. Carter Blake.6

Your offer of 25 copies for the Edition I consider very handsome, and I shall want about 40–50 more at 16s. as you say, &c.

I am utterly ashamed at my corrections: they have half killed me, and yet I laboured hard at the MS., and had it fairly copied, and then corrected and recorrected it. I am glad that you will stir up Mr. Dallas.7

Yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from R. F. Cooke, 13 January 1871.
Frances Power Cobbe reviewed Descent in the Theological Review 8 (1871): 167–92, not in the London newspaper, the Echo. See also Correspondence vol. 18, letters to F. P. Cobbe, 23 March [1870?] and 20 August [1870], and letter from F. P. Cobbe, 28 March [1870?].
A review of Descent appeared in Macmillan’s Magazine 24 (1871): 45–51.
In 1871, the Journal of Anthropology merged with the Journal of the Ethnological Society of London to become the Journal of the Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (Stocking 1987, p. 256). None of these journals published a review of Descent.
Charles Carter Blake was a founding fellow of the Anthropological Society of London.
William Sweetland Dallas; see letter from R. F. Cooke, 13 January 1871 and n. 5.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Stocking, George W., Jr. 1987. Victorian anthropology. New York: The Free Press. London: Collier Macmillan.


Suggests periodicals to receive review copies [of Descent].

Is "ashamed at my corrections".

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 143: 275
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7441,” accessed on 27 January 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19