skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From T. H. Farrer   15 December 1870

3, Gloucester Terrace, | Regent’s Park.

15 Dec/70

My dear Mr Darwin,

I humbly cry Peccavi. The fact is I sent off from Abinger your books which I had there, and quite forgot to get out and send others which I had been keeping here.

Sprengel with several others shall go this morning to Cumberland Place.—1

I saw Miss Darwin there and told her she ought to be ashamed of being seen about, whilst the book is not yet to be seen.2

Sincerely yours | T H Farrer

C Darwin Esq FRS.


Farrer had borrowed, among other books, CD’s copy of Christian Konrad Sprengel’s Das entdeckte Geheimniss der Natur im Bau und in der Befruchtung der Blumen (The secret of nature discovered in the structure and fertilisation of flowers; Sprengel 1793); see Correspondence vol. 17, letter from T. H. Farrer, 13 October 1869. Farrer’s country residence was Abinger Hall near Dorking. One Cumberland Place, London, was the home of Hensleigh Wedgwood, CD’s cousin and brother-in-law.
Henrietta Emma Darwin had been involved in reading the manuscript of Descent (see letter to H. E. Darwin, [8 February 1870]).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Sprengel, Christian Konrad. 1793. Das entdeckte Geheimniss der Natur im Bau und in der Befruchtung der Blumen. Berlin: Friedrich Vieweg.


Forgot to send books.

Saw Miss [Henrietta] Darwin; chastised her for being out when book [Descent] has not yet appeared.

Letter details

Letter no.
Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Gloucester Terrace, 3
Source of text
DAR 164: 67
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7391,” accessed on 11 April 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18