skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To P. L. Sclater   5 December 1870

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

Dec 5th 1870

My dear Mr Sclater,

I send by this post 3 sheets, & tomorrow I will send another. This, with the exception of about 34 of a sheet, completes the part on birds, & I sincerely congratulate you and thank you for your labour will then be completed.1 Some of the sheets are terribly corrected, but they are chiefly parts in which few names are included. I am so tired with my work that I shall leave this place before post time on Thursday the 8th, & shall stay at “6 Queen Anne Street” for a week.2 I will call some early day to see you.

Yours very truly obliged | Ch. Darwin


Sclater had agreed to check lists of birds’ names in Descent for CD (see letter to P. L. Sclater, 4 November [1870]). The chapters on birds are in Descent 2: 36–238. Sclater also checked the two chapters on mammals (Descent 2: 239–315; see Descent 2: 238 n. 59).
CD stayed at his brother Erasmus Alvey Darwin’s house in London from 8 to 14 December 1870 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


Is sending by this post three sheets and will send another tomorrow thus almost completing the part on birds. His congratulations and thanks for PLS’s labours with them.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Philip Lutley Sclater
Sent from
Source of text
Dr W. N. Livingstone (private collection)
Physical description
LS(A) 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7387F,” accessed on 13 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18