skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen   30 November [1870]1

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

Nov. 30th

Dear Sir

I am pleased to hear that the Translation is to be done by one who I have no doubt is fitted so well for the work.—2

I enclose a facsimile of the Title-page.—3

The whole of Vol. I. &, a small part of Vol. II is printed off, but Mr. Murray objects to all the sheets being sent off at once, so that the English edition may not be preceded by any foreign edition.—4 As soon as I receive clean sheets of remainder, I will not fail to send them to you, & I will endeavour not to cause you any delay.—

Dear Sir | Yours faithfully | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen, 27 November 1870.
CD refers to the Dutch translation of Descent (Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen trans. 1871–2). See letter from Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen, 27 November 1870.
The enclosure has not been found.

Bibliography

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Summary

Is pleased to hear that the translator for the Dutch edition [of Descent] is a person so well qualified [see 7384]. He encloses a facsimile of the title page. Reports arrangements with John Murray.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-7386A
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Natural History Museum (General Special Collections DC AL 1/11)
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7386A,” accessed on 27 February 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-7386A.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18

letter