skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Murray   15 November [1870]1

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

Nov. 15th

My dear Sir

When at leisure I shd much like to hear about your book-sale, as far as I am concerned.—2

In the enclosed letter I cannot read the signature— is it Rotterdam sufficient address? I will send him clean sheets as I shd like a translation & he will no doubt buy stereotypes.3

I cannot conceive what the reason is, but I have as yet received clean sets of only 3 first sheets from Messrs Clowes.—4

yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by CD’s reference to the Dutch translation of Descent (see n. 3, below).
On Murray’s November ‘sale dinners’ for the principal booksellers, see J. Murray 1908–9, p. 540.
CD refers to a letter from Hendrik Adrianus Kramers, a bookseller and agent for translation rights in Rotterdam; the letter has not been found. It concerned a Dutch translation of Descent. See letter from Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen, 27 November 1870. There is a letter from Kramers to Murray requesting proof-sheets of Descent for a Dutch translation in the National Library of Scotland, John Murray Archive (42153 f. 53).
CD was waiting for clean proof-sheets of Descent from the printers, William Clowes & Sons.


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Murray, John. 1908–9. Darwin and his publisher. Science Progress in the Twentieth Century 3: 537–42.


Would like to hear results of JM’s November booksale.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Murray
Sent from
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 f. 43)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7371,” accessed on 4 March 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18