skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. W. Reade   11 November 1870

Conservative Club

Nov. 11. ’70

My dear Sir

I am very glad you think my statement worth quoting:1 of course I do not deny that the eye is a creature of habit to a great extent.

I am very sorry to hear that you are in such weak health. How great must be your love of knowledge to make you go through such labours, when many other men would be merely torpid or fretful invalids.

When I have had the pleasure of reading your book I will note down such comments as I am able to make on the parts referring to the Africans.2 By that time I shall have read many books on Africa.

By the bye I forget whether I mentioned a most important case, of a young Mandingo Chief near Sierra Leone falling in love with an English lady in that colony.3 I believe it is well authenticated; I heard a mulatto lady telling the story but unluckily forgot to get the particulars. I think I shall write to my friend Heddle4 & get a statement of the facts.

Hoping you will get stronger I remain | my dear sir | yours very truly | Winwood Reade


CD’s response to Reade’s letter of 9 November 1870 has not been found.
Reade refers to Descent.
Reade also wrote of the Malinke (Mandingo) chief in his letter of 3 September 1870.
Charles Heddle.


Pleased CD is quoting him in Descent.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Winwood Reade
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 176: 41
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7367,” accessed on 11 April 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18