skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Francis Darwin   [after 18 October 1870]1

University “Pitt” Club

My dear Father

I am very much obliged for the cheque2   It wasn’t stopping up in the Long that made me spend so much more as Burn has sent in another bill for the Long for £20.3 I believe the only bill I owe is a tennis bill. I dont know how much it is but I have ordered the man to send it in tomorrow morning. I do owe some more bills but not more than I can pay off. I think I ought to pay them without any help, if I find I cant I will tell you. I will begin keeping accounts again. I could keep them going if I knew you were going to see them so wd you mind seeing them when I come home   Your letter was most awfully kind, much kinder than I deserve4

Your affec son | F Darwin


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to Francis Darwin, 18 October [1870] (Correspondence vol. 18).
See this volume, Supplement, letter from Francis Darwin, [before 18 October 1870] and n. 2. CD had sent Francis £115 to settle his college debts.
Francis had remained in Cambridge during the summer long vacation and received a separate bill for this from his tutor, Robert Burn.
Although Francis overspent his allowance by a considerable amount, CD had scolded him gently and asked whether he needed more money; he advised Francis to get into the habit of keeping accounts (see Correspondence vol. 18, letter to Francis Darwin, 18 October [1870]).


Thanks CD for the cheque. Gives account of money owed for tutoring and tennis.

Letter details

Letter no.
Francis Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 274.1: 20

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7346F,” accessed on 21 April 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24 (Supplement)