skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From V. O. Kovalevsky   15 August [1870]1

31. Bloomsbury Str. Bedford Square.

Dear Sir

I am once more for a short time in England and should be very happy to see You if You could accept my visit.2 It is such a long time I had no news from You; after Your letter to Nice in the Spring I wrote You from a small place near Marseille, but having no answer I fear my letter has been lost.3 My wife is gone with her sister to the sea side and I am left alone to make excursions;4 if You are not occupied to much to receive visits, I have an intention to go to Bickley5 Tuesday and walk from the Station to Down.

I hope to find Mrs. Dawin and the ladies6 in good heal.

Yours | truly | W. Kovalevsky

London 15 August


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from V. O. Kovalevsky, 7 August [1870].
Neither CD’s letter nor Kovalevsky’s reply has been found.
Kovalevsky refers to Sofia Vasilyevna Kovalevskaya and Anna Vasilyevna Korvin-Krukovskaya.
Bickley Station is just outside Bromley, Kent, about six miles from Down.
Emma Darwin, Henrietta Emma Darwin, and Elizabeth Darwin.


Wishes to visit Down.

Letter details

Letter no.
Vladimir Onufrievich Kovalevsky (Владимир Онуфриевич Ковалевский)
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Bloomsbury St, 31
Source of text
DAR 169: 65
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7302,” accessed on 18 May 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18