skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Albert Günther   15 July [1870]1

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

July 15th

My dear Dr. Günther

I do not know which species of Triton, Mr Ford has drawn for me.—2 I describe briefly in my M.S. T. punctatus. Will you kindly write name on proofs & slip them in enclosed envelope, without troubling yourself to write a word.— My Chapt. on Fishes & Reptiles, wd have been much the worst in my volume, had it not been for your kind & most valuable assistance; & now I think it will be one of the best, & certainly the best illustrated.—3

Your’s very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the reference to a proof-sheet of an illustration for Descent, which was published in February 1871 (see below, n. 2).
CD evidently refers to the illustration by George Henry Ford of Triton cristatus; it appeared in Descent 2: 24 fig. 31. Ford was making illustrations for Descent under Günther’s supervision (see Correspondence vol. 17, letter to Albert Günther, 21 September 1869).
CD refers to Descent 2: 1–37. See Correspondence vols. 15–17.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


Asks AG to identify the species of Triton Mr Ford has drawn.

AG’s help has turned CD’s chapter on fishes and reptiles from "much the worst" into "one of the best" [in Descent].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Albrecht Carl Ludwig Gotthilf (Albert) Günther
Sent from
Source of text
Shrewsbury School, Taylor Library
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7276,” accessed on 28 October 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18