skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Louis Rérolle   15 June 1870


15 June 1870


I am happy to inform you that the French translation of your book on the fertilisation of Orchids is published, and I have requested Mr Reinwald, the publisher, to send you immediately a copy, which I gratefully beg you to accept.1

I have not had the honour to write to you since a long time about this publication, which required a little time more than had been formerly supposed;2 it is now completed, and I feel highly gratified to have been the means of presenting your valuable work to the French public; I feel convinced that, if my translation is not too inferior, I have done a useful thing in making my countrymen acquainted with another of your works;3 your approbation alone is wanting to complete my satisfaction.

Should you desire to present a few copies to any friends of yours, I shall feel most happy to send you some.

I have the honour to be, Sir, your most obliged and respectful servant | Louis Rérolle


The French translation of Orchids was Rérolle trans. 1870. For earlier letters from Rérolle, see Correspondence vol. 17, letters from Louis Rérolle, 17 March 1869, 10 May 1869, and 30 July 1869. Rérolle also refers to Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald.
Rérolle had expected the book to be ready in February 1870 (Correspondence vol. 17, letter from Louis Rérolle, 30 July 1869).
Origin had been translated by Clémence Auguste Royer (Royer trans. 1862, 1866, 1870) and Variation by Jean Jacques Moulinié (Moulinié trans. 1868).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


French translation of Orchids is published.

Letter details

Letter no.
Louis Rérolle
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 176: 132
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7234,” accessed on 16 June 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18