skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Adam Sedgwick   1 June [1870]1

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

June 1

My dear Professor Sedgwick

I must write a line to thank you very much for the present of your last writing.2

What I said in my last note was exactly true: I felt your manner towards myself & family extraordinarily kind, & I have not often in my life been more gratified.—3 Walking round the museum, after conversing with you, tired me a good deal, for I am knocked up with incredible ease; but I was quite right again next morning.4 I shall always look back with great satisfaction to my last visit (as it will probably prove) to Cambridge.— I hope that you will feel strong, so as to enjoy to a certain extent your visit to your old home.—5

With the most sincere respect, believe me | Yours truly obliged | Charles Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Adam Sedgwick, 30 May 1870.
CD’s letter to Sedgwick has not been found; however, see the letter to J. D. Hooker, 25 May [1870].
CD refers to the Woodwardian Museum (see letter to Alfred Newton, [22 May 1870] and n. 3).
Sedgwick was planning to visit Dent, in Yorkshire (see letter from Adam Sedgwick, 30 May 1870). Dent is now in Cumbria.


Thanks AS for his kindness towards himself and his family. Looks back with great satisfaction to his last visit ("as it will probably prove") to Cambridge.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Adam Sedgwick
Sent from
Source of text
Stanford University Department of Special Collections (Stephen Jay Gould Collection, M1437, Box 958)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7213F,” accessed on 25 February 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18