skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Julius Victor Carus   16 April [1870]1

61, Grosvenor Str. | W.

Saturday, Apr 16.

My dear Sir,

I have been in London for some weeks, yet so busy that I could not call on any body. In about four or five days I shall leave England, but shall be back I hope in August. I knew Kölliker went to see you yesterday, but I declined to join him that you might not have too much visitors at once.

If your health allows it I should be very happy if I could see you. Perhaps you are so kind to let me know, what day would suit you best. Would you be so good as to tell me, what station I must take in order to come to your house?

Of the third German edition of your Origin I had the last sheet some few days ago. But it will not be out but after some weeks, as Mr Koch has arranged to give an Index to it.2

Believe me | My dear Sir | Yours very sincerely. | J. Victor Carus


The year is established by the reference to Rudolf Albert von Kölliker’s visit to Down (see letter from Albert Günther, 12 April 1870).
Carus refers to Bronn and Carus 1870 and to Eduard Koch (in fact it was the fourth German edition of Origin).


Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.


Would like to visit CD at Down.

[Fourth] German edition of Origin will be out in a few weeks.

Letter details

Letter no.
Julius Victor Carus
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Grosvenor St, 61
Source of text
DAR 161: 74
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7165,” accessed on 29 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18