skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Albert Günther   [c. 9 April 1870]1

has finished now all your woodcuts, so that you may expect them from the woodcutter in a very short time.2

The object in my writing today is a request from Prof. Kölliker3 of Würzburg who at present is in London for a fortnight, & anxious to pay you his respects. As his time is very much taken up by an examination of corals in the Museum, I advised him to ask you whether you would see him on Good-Friday, a day on which the Museum is closed.4 Thus, if you should be disengaged on that day, & if you & Mrs Darwin are inclined to receive visitors, Kölliker & myself would come by one of the morning-trains, walk from the station over to Down, & after a few hours stay return to London in the afternoon.

Kölliker stays with Sharpey5 at present, but has promised to shift his quarters to my house during Easter.

I hope you, Mrs Darwin & all your family are quite well, & remain | Yours very sincerely | A Günther


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Günther of 12 April 1870.
Günther refers to the woodcuts for Descent, which were being made under his supervision by George Henry Ford (see letter to Albert Günther, 23 March [1870]).
Rudolf Albert von Kölliker.
In 1870, Good Friday fell on 15 April. Günther refers to the British Museum.
William Sharpey.


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


CD should soon receive woodcuts.

R. A. v. Kölliker would much like to visit CD.

Letter details

Letter no.
Albrecht Carl Ludwig Gotthilf (Albert) Günther
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 165: 242b
Physical description
2pp inc

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7144,” accessed on 17 April 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18