skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From George Henslow   3 March 1870

8. Robertson Terrace | Hastings

March 3/70.

My dear Mr Darwin,

I have been going to write to you some time ago—but several things intervened—to thank you for yr letter containing directions about an experiment on Lapageria.1 I found it was rather late in the season—& could not get more than about 20 blossoms fit for trial. I, however, dusted about half with their own pollen & the rest with pollen from difft. fls. & cut out their stamens. The perianths of all faded much the same time. & the pistils have all remained on, but at present look all alike. Mr H2 tells me that they do not commence swelling under 6 months, so that I cannot ascertain the result for some time to come. I hope to repeat the expt. more fully next season when the blossoms are abundt. The white Var is a doubtful affair—its history is unknown   Mr H. says he believes it has sent forth red blossoms in some body else’s possession!

All his plants are from cuttings: but seedlings are more profitable if reard with a little care.

Yrs faithfully | Geo Henslow

P.S. I have been sent down here to ‘rusticate’ by the Metropoln Ry Co,3 for giving me concussion of brain in an accident— getting all right again


CD’s letter to Henslow has not been found; however, see Correspondence vol. 17, letter from George Henslow, 22 November 1869.
Mr H. may be Andrew Henderson, a nurseryman in St John’s Wood; a Mr Henderson of St John’s Wood had told Henslow that Lapageria rosea never set seed unless artificially impregnated; see Correspondence vol. 17, letter from George Henslow, 22 November 1869.
Metropolitan Railway Company.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Experiments with Lapageria.

Letter details

Letter no.
George Henslow
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 166: 171
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7126,” accessed on 27 February 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18