skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From William Darwin Fox   15 February [1870]1

Broadlands | Sandown | I. Wight

Feb 15

My dear Darwin

It is so long since I have heard anything of you and yours, that I trouble you with a few lines, which perhaps Mrs Darwin will answer for you—to ask how you are this very trying Winter. We have all been here since October and are become quite settled here, tho’ at present 〈    〉 Delamere up,2 and some 〈    〉 of us, possibly all—may go there in Summer.

We have all been laid up with this extraordinary cold weather. Sandown is a complete 〈tem〉ple full of the Winds, and this East one has been very biting.

What was the accident from riding, which Mrs Darwin alluded to, with you. I hope you have quite got over it, and that it has not prevented your riding as usual, as that seemed to do you so much good.3

I hope George4 got quite strong and well again.

I must try to make the acquaintance of your Banker Son at Southampton5 when days get a little longer & brighter 〈    〉 I never thought Sou〈thampt〉on a very healthy 〈p〉lac〈e〉 〈    〉 I used to live in 〈those〉 parts.

What old fellows we get— you however are the younger of the two.

I should very much enjoy seeing you again, are you likely to be in Town this Spring? I suppose I shall be there for a short time next month, if able to go. How is Mrs Wedgwood— are her daughters6 〈    〉 But I will not go on bothering your poor Head with questions. Give this to Mrs Darwin & I shall feel immensely grateful if she will a〈nswer〉 it, when she has time, 〈and〉 will tell me all about 〈    〉 and your belongings.

In the meanwhile, with our kindest regards | Believe me | Ever your attached Friend | W. D Fox


The year is established by the reference to CD’s riding accident (see n. 3, below).
Delamere Rectory, Northwich, Cheshire, was Fox’s previous residence.
CD was thrown by his horse, Tommy, in April 1869 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).
George Howard Darwin.
William Erasmus Darwin.
Caroline Sarah Wedgwood was CD’s sister; her daughters were Sophy Wedgwood, Margaret Susan Vaughan Williams, and Lucy Caroline Wedgwood.


Hopes CD is coping with the very hard winter.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Darwin Fox
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 164: 190
Physical description
4pp damaged

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7107,” accessed on 4 April 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18