skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Mary Susan Owen   2 February [1870]1

Astley— Shrewsbury

Feb 2d

My dear Uncle Charles—

You will be surprised at receiving a letter from me, but I am writing to ask a favour of you.—

Would you have any objection to being God-father to our small child no 3? it would be very kind of you if you have none, but I know some people do object, for I have received a refusal about it— I hope you won’t mind my asking you, for it really is but a form after all— I hope you & Aunt Emma are pretty well, I hear of you occassionally from the Leith Hill girls—2 they tell me that Henrietta is abroad—3

With best love to yourself & Aunt Emma

Believe me | Yr. affcate. niece | M. M. Owen.


The year is established by the reference to Maud Owen’s christening. She was born 3 December 1869 (Darwin pedigree).
Sophy and Lucy Caroline Wedgwood lived at Leith Hill Place in Surrey.
Henrietta Emma Darwin was travelling in the south of France and Italy (letter from H. E. Darwin to Emma Darwin, 1 February [1870] (DAR 245: 31)).


Darwin pedigree: Pedigree of the family of Darwin. Compiled by H. Farnham Burke. N.p.: privately printed. 1888. [Reprinted in facsimile in Darwin pedigrees, by Richard Broke Freeman. London: printed for the author. 1984.]


Asks CD to be godfather to her third child [Maud Mostyn Owen].

Letter details

Letter no.
Mary Susan Parker/Mary Susan Mostyn Owen
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Astley, Shrewsbury
Source of text
DAR 173: 45
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7094,” accessed on 6 December 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18