skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From C. C. Babington   26 October 1843

St John’s Coll: Cambridge

Oct. 26. 1843.

Dear Darwin,

I am much pleased to have had an opportunity of examining the Atriplex raised from seeds found at so great a debth by Mr. Kemp.1

The specimen has all the appearance of having been grown upon a very richly manured or muddy soil, but is, as I believe I may say with the utmost confidence, a variety of the A. angustifolia. I have seen plants growing on the mud of salt marshes or close to a dung-hill that exactly resembled it in all points. The usual state of the plant is so different that I cannot wonder at botanists who have not made this unattractive genus their study refering the specimens to a wrong species.

A. hastata is quite a different plant. I should much like to see Mr. Kemp’s specimens refered by Henslow to A. patula. 2

I inclose the specimen and have only to add my earnest hope that your health is now restored to its former state of goodness.

Believe me to be | Most truly yours | Charles C. Babington—

Footnotes

See letters from J. S. Henslow, 9 October 1843 and 17 October 1843.

Summary

Identifies Atriplex raised from seeds found by W. Kemp as A. angustifolia.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-708
From
Charles Cardale Babington
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
St John’s College, Cambridge
Source of text
DAR 50: A28
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 708,” accessed on 27 January 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-708.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 2

letter