skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. S. Henslow   17 October 1843

H. H. S. [Hitcham Hadleigh Suffolk]

17 Oct 1843

My dear Darwin,

The odd Atriplex came from Lindley alone — Mr K’s was clearly only A. patula, & this it is that staggers me— Lindley ought to hunt out the A. hastata in the Linnean or other herbaria in London & see what he can make of it—1

The raising some of these things indoors & in pots has evidently induced an unusual habit in them— but this is a different thing from the very marked characters about the supposed A. hastata— tho’ with my usual “unwillingly discriminatory-species” eyes I can conceive A. patula & A. hastata to be the same thing—2

Many more than 300, & probably double that No. came to see the Roman Tomb— The 2d day’s admission was 6d & so for several on the 1st day— I only modelled the brickwork, & then laid the articles precisely in sitû. I have drawn up a little account with a lithograph figure which I will send to London some day for you—3 I hope to be in town in Novr. & perhaps give a little account of my Whales ears & Nodules—4 I have had the 2 best specimens modelled—one of each species—

Ever Yrs truly | J S Henslow


Henslow 1843b.
Henslow reported to the Geological Society on 13 December on concretions, including fossil petro-tympanic bones of Cetacea, he had found in the Red Crag at Felixstowe, Suffolk (Henslow 1843c, with an appendix describing four species by Richard Owen).


Regards [W. Kemp’s] plant as clearly only Atriplex patula, though with "an unusual habit".

Adds report on success of his Roman tomb exhibit.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Stevens Henslow
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 50: A26–7
Physical description
4pp †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 707,” accessed on 16 June 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 2