skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From G. H. Darwin   [20 April 1870]1

New University Club | St. James’s St


My dear Father,

I send by this post the French paper that I thought I had lost—2 I suppose I picked it up without perceivg. it;—but it is very odd I did’nt see it when I got in.— I am going across tonight & have just done my packing up & am so hot I do’nt know what to do with myself.— I have bought a new hat in order to avoid waiting for the old one; I couldn’t bear waitg. after scurrying about the whole afternoon to get off.— I sha’nt write till I get to Genoa.—

I am glad I’m going by night the heat wd be so awful in the day.—

Your affec Son | G H Darwin


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and letters from Emma Darwin to H. E. Darwin in DAR 219.9: 69, 87, and 88. In a letter dated [18 January 1870] (DAR 219.9: 69), Emma writes that the leaves won’t be out when George goes to Genoa; in a letter dated [19–20 April 1870] (DAR 219.9: 87), she writes that Down has had four to five days of ‘blazing summery weather’; in a letter dated [20 April 1870] (DAR 219.9: 88), she writes that George leaves on Thursday (which would be 21 April 1870). In 1870, 20 April was a Wednesday.
The paper has not been identified.


Is leaving tonight for Genoa;

sends a French paper [not identified].

Letter details

Letter no.
George Howard Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
New University Club
Source of text
DAR 210.2: 12
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7046,” accessed on 15 April 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18