skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. J. Moulinié   20 November 1869

Down Beckenham | Kent

Nov 20. 1869

My dear Sir

I enclose the few small additions & corrections for the Origin.1 I also send my letter which will serve as a sort of preface to yr translation, but pray consider it well & suggest any alterations;2 it should also hereafter be shewn to M. Reinwald for his approval & correction.3

My dear Sir | yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin


Moulinié was translating the fifth edition of Origin into French (Moulinié trans. 1873; see letter to J. J. Moulinié, 15 November [1869]). The enclosure has not been found.
The letter to Moulinié has not been found. However, since the French translation was not published until 1873 (and included changes from the sixth English edition), CD wrote another letter to Moulinié, dated 23 September 1872, which appeared in Moulinié trans. 1873, pp. ix–x.
Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald was the publisher of Moulinié trans. 1873.


Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.


Sends corrections of JJM’s translation of Origin. Sends preface.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Jean Jacques Moulinié
Sent from
Source of text
Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms. suppl. 66, f. 15)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6998,” accessed on 19 May 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17