skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To ?   17 November [1870]1

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

Nov 17

Dear Sir

I am much obliged for your note to Mr Murray;2 but I have to inform you that I have already agreed with Prof. Victor Carus to translate my next book—

Dear Sir | yours faithfully | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the style of the address, with ‘Bromley’ deleted and ‘Beckenham’ added by hand, which CD used from April 1869 until May 1871, and from the reference to an agreement with Julius Victor Carus. Carus confirmed his willingness to translate Descent into German in his letter of 2 October 1870. In November 1869, CD seems still to have been uncertain whether Carus would accept the task and was asking him to consider other candidates (Correspondence vol. 17, letters to J. V. Carus, 9 November [1869] and 20 November 1869).
John Murray may have enclosed the note with his letter of 16 November [1870].


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


CD has already agreed that Julius Victor Carus will translate his next book.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Autogr. Darwin, Charles Robert, Bl. 3–4)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6993F,” accessed on 25 January 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18