skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To James Paget   8 November [1869]1

6. Queen Anne St

Nov. 8

My dear Paget.

Cordial thanks for your confirmation about the extent of the blush, & for your case of inheritance.— I do love such little facts.2

I passed your door the other day, & wished much to come in, but thought I shd. only waste your time, & virtuously refrained. I now wish I had not been so self-restraining.— We are off home early tomorrow morning.3

Yours most sincerely, | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the references to CD’s returning home on 9 November (see n. 3, below), and to Paget’s having given information about blushing (see n. 2, below).
Paget’s letter has not been found, but CD cited him for information on blushing, including a case of an apparently inherited pattern of blushing, in Expression, pp. 312–14. In his letter to Paget of 29 April [1869], CD had written, ‘If ever you come across an extra blushing damsel do not forget the downward extent of the blush’ (Correspondence vol. 17).
Paget lived in Hanover Square, London. CD stayed from 1 to 9 November 1869 at the house of his brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin.


Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.


Thanks for confirmation about the extent of blushing.

Passed JP’s house but did not call; and now regrets his restraint.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
James Paget, 1st baronet
Sent from
Source of text
The Argyll Papers, Inveraray Castle (NRAS 1209/856)
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6977F,” accessed on 9 June 2023,