skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. V. Carus   [30 October 1869]1

P.S. I recd this morning since the above was written a letter from Carl Vogt, expressing his readiness to translate my book at the request of the publisher Monsieur Ricker.2 I shall write to him tomorrow to say that you have undertaken the work, & I mention the circumstance because if you shd unfortunately for me find yourself, now that you know the size of my book, too much overwhelmed with your own work to complete the translation within any reasonable time, I should not be quite thrown over, as Schweizerbart3 could perhaps arrange with Prof. Vogt. But I trust there may be no need for any change—


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to J. V. Carus, 30 October 1869.
The letter to which this particular postscript was appended has not been found. CD evidently decided to rewrite his letter to Carus after receiving the letter from Carl Vogt, 26 October 1869, but may have accidentally included this original postscript (which is in Emma Darwin’s hand) with the second letter. In the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, it has been included with the letter to Carus of 22 October [1869]. CD refers to Franz Anton Ricker.
CD refers to his German publisher, C. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung.


Has received a letter from Carl Vogt, expressing his readiness to translate Descent at the request of the publisher Franz Anton Ricker

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6958F,” accessed on 24 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17