skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Frances Harriet Hooker to Emma Darwin   24 September [1868]1

My dear Mrs. Darwin

Thank you much for your two kind notes.2 I could not write yesterday, as I had to be in town— I think Joseph & Dr. Gray will not be able to accomplish their visit to you until after the 12th., as Dr. & Mrs. Lombe will be with us during the previous week—3 But I fear that I must not hope to have the pleasure of accompanying them—for my governess4 is just going away for a month’s holiday, & in her absence I cannot well leave home—

It is very kind of you to wish Harriet5 to go to Down, and I shall very gladly accept your invitation should you like to receive her at any time during her holiday—

I am sure she would greatly enjoy a little visit to you, & would delight in the pleasures of the country, as she has by no means outgrown a girl’s fondness for animals of all sorts.

Willy looks pretty well, but we are charged to be extremely careful of him—6 his father has not yet decided what to do with him this winter—

Believe me | Yours affectly | F H Hooker

Kew W.

Sep. 24.


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to J. D. Hooker, 25 September 1868.
The letters from Emma Darwin have not been found.
Joseph Dalton Hooker and Asa Gray visited Down from 24 October 1868 (see letter from J. D. Hooker, 5 September 1868 and n. 12). Frances also refers to J. D. Hooker’s sister, Elizabeth Lombe, and her husband, Thomas Robert Evans Lombe.
The governess has not been identified.


Thinks J. D. Hooker and Asa Gray will not be able to visit Down until after the 12th.

Letter details

Letter no.
Frances Harriet Henslow/Frances Harriet Hooker
Emma Wedgwood/Emma Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 104: 229–30
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6907,” accessed on 7 October 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16