skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. D. Hooker   17 September 1869

Royal Gardens Kew

Sept 17 /69

Dear Darwin

I see nothing to prevent my being with you on afternoon of tomorrow week—to wh. I look forward—

Thanks for the supplementary which I shall quote in the Brit. Fl.1

Ever yrs | J D Hooker

The Dutch could not come through illness in family.2

Footnotes

Hooker was preparing The student’s flora of the British Islands (J. D. Hooker 1870). See letter from J. D. Hooker, 11 March 1869 and n. 6.The ‘supplementary’ Hooker refers to is probably new material added to the French edition of Orchids (Rérolle trans. 1870) and separately published in English (‘Fertilization of orchids’).
CD had suggested that Hooker invite Friedrich Anton Wilhelm Miquel to Down. See letter to J. D. Hooker, 10 September [1869].

Bibliography

‘Fertilization of orchids’: Notes on the fertilization of orchids. By Charles Darwin. Annals and Magazine of Natural History 4th ser. 4 (1869): 141–59. [Collected papers 2: 138–56.]

Hooker, Joseph Dalton. 1870. The student’s flora of the British Islands. London: Macmillan.

Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.

Summary

Will come to Down on 25 Sept.

Thanks CD for supplementaries ["Fertilization of orchids", Collected papers 2: 138–56] which he will quote in the British flora [The student’s flora of the British Islands (1870)].

F. A. W. Miquel could not come.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-6895
From
Joseph Dalton Hooker
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Kew
Source of text
DAR 103: 32–3
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6895,” accessed on 1 April 2020, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-6895.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17

letter