skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Ernst Haeckel   3 August [1869]1

Down, Beckenham, Kent

Aug 3d

My dear Häckel

Many thanks for your very kind letter of July 2d.2 I first wrote to Huxley, to whom I found that you had applied;3 & then to Albany Hancock, who says he shd. have been most happy, but has never collected calc. sponges. He says he could give you 2 or 3 species of the burrowing Cliona; if these wd. be of service.—4 I then applied to the Revd. A. M. Norman & enclose his answer.—5 You had better write direct to him, as this wd. please him; but you could (if you have to write to me) enclose one for him & I could stamp & forward it.—

Do not forget to say how specimens could be forwarded. The man who has most specimens is “J. S. Bowerbank Esqr F.R.S, East Ascent, St. Leonard’s-on-sea”;6 & I daresay he wd. send you specimens, if you were to write to him; but I do not much like to do so.—

What an indomitable worker you are!— I hope you will reap the richest reward possible by making more fine discoveries. You will soon be ranked (not that you will care much about that) amongst the few first naturalists in Europe: already I see your works more & more quoted, in England, Italy & U. States.

Once again many thanks for your very pleasant letter & believe me | Yours most sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Ernst Haeckel, 2 July 1869.
See letter to A. M. Norman, 29 July [1869], and letter from A. M. Norman, 2 August 1869 and enclosure.
CD refers to James Scott Bowerbank. See also letter from A. M. Norman, 2 August 1869.


Suggests Englishmen who might provide sponge specimens.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Sent from
Source of text
Ernst-Haeckel-Haus (Bestand A-Abt. 1: 1–52/22)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6850,” accessed on 27 November 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17