skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To William Kemp   24 [April 1843]1

Down | Bromley | Kent


Dear Sir

I am glad you are willing to follow my advice about deferring your account till the plants have been ascertained.— I return the copy of the Paper you sent me.—2 I am sorry to say I have not yet heard from Mr. R. Brown & I fear my letter has miscarried or perhaps he waits till I see him in town: I will not fail to write if he has anything particular to observe.—3

I have heard from Prof. Lindley, who says one of the seeds is certainly a Polygonum & the other probably a Chenopodium: he anticipates they will turn out common species— He has had seeds carefully planted & will communicate the result to me if they germinate.—4

I hope you will carefully dry some of your specimens in their flowering & seeding state | Yours very faithfully | C. Darwin


The month and year are established by the relationship between this letter, the letter from William Kemp, 2 October 1843 (Correspondence vol. 2), and the letter to John Lindley, 8 [April 1843] (Correspondence vol. 2).
See this volume, Supplement, letter to William Kemp, 7 April [1843] and n. 6.
See this volume, Supplement, letter to William Kemp, 7 April [1843]. CD refers to Robert Brown.
Polygonum and Chenopodium are both in the order Caryophyllales. See Correspondence vol. 2, letter from John Lindley, [after 8 April 1843].


Has not yet heard from R. Brown, but John Lindley thinks species will probably turn out to be common ones.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Kemp
Sent from
Source of text
Ruth Cramond and David Cramond (private collection)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 672F,” accessed on 7 April 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18 (Supplement)