skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. N. Hegt   27 April [1869]1

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

April 27

Dear Sir

I write one line merely to thank you very much for your note & to say that I hope you will accept from me a copy of my Journal of Travels, which as you are so good a scholar might possibly in parts interest you.— I have told my publisher to send you a copy by Post.—2 It does not seem possible that the spurs of the two species of Pavo will ever differ in rate of development.3

With my best thanks | Pray believe me | Dear Sir | Yours truly obliged | Charles Darwin

P.S. | If hereafter you shd perceive any difference in the development of the spurs, perhaps you will have the great kindness to inform me.—4

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. N. Hegt, [23 April 1869].
CD refers to his Journal of researches, and to his publisher, John Murray.
In Descent 1: 290 n. 28, where CD cited Hegt’s information on the peafowl, he added, ‘I presume that I should have been informed if any difference in the rate of development had subsequently been observed.’

Bibliography

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Journal of researches: Journal of researches into the geology and natural history of the various countries visited by HMS Beagle, under the command of Captain FitzRoy, RN, from 1832 to 1836. By Charles Darwin. London: Henry Colburn. 1839.

Summary

Arranges to send a copy of Journal of researches.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-6714F
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
J. Noordhoek Hegt
Source of text
Stadsarchief, Amsterdam (395: 614)
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6714F,” accessed on 28 February 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-6714F.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17

letter