skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To William Jackson Hooker   12 March [1843]

Down Bromley | Kent

March 12th

My dear Sir

I am extremely obliged for your note. I was going to have written to you by today’s post, for I have received a letter from Mr Davis1 informing me of his present of specimens.— Would you be so good as to forward the box, whenever you receive it, either to the Athenæum Club or Geological Soc. or preferably to 43 Grt. Marlborough St.— I hope my box will not cause you much additional trouble; will you be so kind as to inform me, what you have paid for clearance &c &c & I will on the first opportunity repay you by a post-offices order.

When you next write to your son,2 will you please remember me kindly to him & give him my best thanks for his note.— I had the pleasure yesterday of reading a letter from him to Mr Lyell of Kinnordy full of the most interesting details & descriptions, & written (if I may be permitted to make such a criticism) in a particularly agreeable style. It leads me anxiously to hope, even more than I did before, that he will publish some separate nat: Hist: journal & not allow (if it can be avoided) his materials to be merged in another work.— I am very glad to hear you talk of inducing your son to publish an Antarctic Flora— I have long felt much curiosity for some discussion on the general character of the Flora of Tierra del Fuego, that part of the globe, furthest removed in latitude from us. How interesting will be a strict comparison between the plants of those regions & of Scotland or Shetland. I am sure I may speak on part of Prof. Henslow that all my collection (which gives fair representation of alpine flora of T. del. Fuego & of Southern Patagonia) will be joyfully laid at his disposal.—3

If you have occasion to write to me, will you inform me how & when I can write to Mr Davis, in H.M.S. Terror?

Believe me my dear Sir | With much respect | Yours truly obliged | C. Darwin


John Edward Davis, Second Master of H.M.S. Terror on the Antarctic voyage under Captain Sir James Clark Ross (Huxley 1918, 1: 86 n. 1). Davis had served in the Beagle as one of the forecastle men (see Correspondence vol. 1, Appendix III).
Joseph Dalton Hooker, Assistant Surgeon and Botanist in the Erebus, companion ship to the Terror.
Mr Lyell of Kinnordy: Charles Lyell Sr. Henslow sent most of CD’s South American plants to J. D. Hooker beginning in late 1843. However, a few specimens were overlooked and not sent until 1846 (D. M. Porter 1980a, p. 520).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Huxley, Leonard, ed. 1918. Life and letters of Sir Joseph Dalton Hooker, OM, GCSI. Based on materials collected and arranged by Lady Hooker. 2 vols. London: John Murray.


Asks WJH to thank his son [J. D. Hooker, away on Antarctic survey] for his note. Has also read a letter JDH wrote to Lyell. Hopes JDH will publish a journal. If he publishes an Antarctic flora, CD will place his collection of South American alpine plants at his disposal.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Jackson Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew: S. American letters 1838–44, 69: 40
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 664,” accessed on 26 February 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 2