skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From George Maw   14 January 1869

Benthall Hall, | nr. Broseley.

Jany 14. 69

Dear Sir

I am very pleased to find I can be of any use to you. I will make a note as to the age of horning of Merino Lambs & try & get some information1

With reference to the drosphyllum could you send me a dried specimen to look at which I will return you.2 I am not acquainted with the plant nor is it mentioned by Kelaart in his Flora Calpensis or by Munby in the little work he published on the Flora of the N African coast but if I can see a dried specimen I will do my best to find it & send it by post as I shall be some weeks in the neighbourhood of Gibraltar & am generally lucky in finding plants I want to get.3

I am Dr Sir | Very truly | Geo Maw

C Darwin Esq


Maw refers to the insectivorous plant Drosophyllum (see letter to George Maw, 13 January 1869 and n. 3).
Maw refers to Edward Frederick Kelaart’s Flora Calpensis (Kelaart 1846) and Giles Munby’s Flore d’Algèrie (Munby 1847).


Kelaart, Edward Frederick. 1846. Flora Calpensis. Contributions to the botany and topography of Gibraltar and its neighbourhood: with plan and views of the rock. London: John Van Voorst.

Munby, Giles. 1847. Flore d’Algèrie: ou catalogue des plantes indigènes du royaume d’Alger: accompagné des descriptions de quelques espèces nouvelles ou peu connues. Paris: J.B. Baillière.


In Gibraltar he will make notes on merino lambs and Drosophyllum as CD requests.

Letter details

Letter no.
George Maw
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Benthall Hall
Source of text
DAR 171: 103
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6553,” accessed on 15 October 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17