skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From George Maw   9 January 1869

Benthall Hall, | nr. Broseley.

Jany 9th. 69

Dear Sir

I am looking forward to visiting Gibraltar. Tangiers & Tetuan & if I find it tolerably safe shall try & get as far south as Mount Anna (20 miles S of Tetuan & 7219 feet high) for the purpose of collecting plants & examining the geology. I also hope to visit the district N of Malaga.1

I write this to say that if there is anything in the parts I am about to visit about which I can collect information that will be of use to you (as to local breeds of domesticated animals &c &c &c.) I shall be most happy to place myself at your service if you will name any points on which you require special observations (or specimens collected) I think I shall sail from Liverpool on the 3rd. of Feby & be absent Five or Six weeks.

I have taken the liberty of forwarding for the favor of yr acceptance a copy of a paper I have recently written on Ferruginous variegation.2

I am dr Sir | yrs very truly | Geo Maw

C Darwin Esqre

We have here a Tortoiseshell cat exhibiting rather curious characters   Her fur is almost as long as that of the long haired Persian or French, but there is no long-haired cat in the neighbourhood   the mother was a Tabby I think & all the other kittens of the same litter & succeeding litters were of the ordinary kind. If you would like to see her I shall be very happy to bring her up with me the next time I am in Town & can also ascertain all particulars as to her pedigree


Tangiers (also spelled Tanger) and Tetuan (or Tétouan) are cities in northern Morocco. Málaga is a port city in southern Spain.
Maw refers to his paper ‘On the disposition of iron in variegated strata’ (Maw 1868). CD’s copy has not been found.


Maw, George. 1868. On the disposition of iron in variegated strata. [Read 22 April 1868.] Quarterly Journal of the Geological Society of London 24: 351–400.


Planning to visit Gibraltar and Morocco. Is there anything he can do for CD?

Letter details

Letter no.
George Maw
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Benthall Hall
Source of text
DAR 171: 102
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6547,” accessed on 21 October 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17